Lodge Guest and professor Gerhard Andersson


Where do you currently live and where are you from ?

I live in Linköping, Sweden and come from Norrköping.

Tell us a little bit about your past ?

I was born 1966 and started skating 1978. Was active until 1983 and returned again 1987. A few years later I had a long break before returning 2015. I now skate every week with my friend who are also seniors (but also with less old people).

Why skateboarding ? How did it start for you ?

It was described as something very bad here in Sweden. Hence it became very interesting for us. We were actually chased by the police occasionally, Staring riding ramps fairly early but also enjoyed freestyle.

What size set up, wheels & trucks do you currently ride ?

I own too many boards… I ride a World Industries Prime Heritage Jef Hartsel Globes 10 Deck, Ace 55 trucks, and Skull skates 97A 56 mm wheels. Old school in other words.

Do you have any setup rituals, we need to know about ?

Not all all apart from always wearing all protective gears there is. Broke my arm two years back and at my age it pays to wear proper pads and helmet.

Any sponsors ?

Never. I am not a sports person. I do have a signature board with two friends but as one of them happens to own the brand it is because of me being a fanastic skater. For me this is pure fun and competition is against myself.

What kind of skateboarding do you prefer ?

Ramps but nowadays not huge ones. Miniramps and bowls are fun. I sometimes do some flatland freestyle and have tried to street skate. Longboard is a more natural way to go to the shopping mall than cycling but that is a different thing.

Do you have a skate spot in your home town you can recommend ?

Rather the opposite. There is a spot but they focus too much on other vehicles… I skate in my former hometown Norrköping and also some skate trips with my friends

Who is your favorite skateboarders ?

Several. Pedro Barros is a current one, but in terms of style I have always enjoyed Steve Caballero who a saw back in 1981 for the first time a Eurocana Summer Camp here in Sweden.

School, work, not working or other occupation ?

I am professor in psychology. Managed pretty well www.gerhardandersson.se. Also practice as psychologist. Good thing with skating is that I totally forget about research and work when I skate.

How is a normal day looking for you ? 

Wake up, work, dinner with family, some TV or reading, sleep. And yes I eat as well. Coffe makes life easier.

Tell us how a good long weekend is looking for you

Always a skate session with my friends. I also play in a small cover band and we rehearse every weekend as well. Spend time with wife and kids (if they are around).

Any new projects or missions 2018, you wanna talk about ?

Well I just received a research grants which pretty much keeps me busy at work. Managed this year to get over a phobia for rock into fakie which was the reason I broke my arm. Very happy when I got over it.

Any big plans for 2019 ? Regular skating and no broken bones.

Christmas is here, will you get any presents this year ?

Most likely. Food spending time with family is rewarding enough.

Who are you hanging out with at the moment ?

I have some skate friends and we see each other at least once a week skating and sometime two or even three times each week.



Who and what is your motivation at the moment ?

At my age staying fit and sane. I am not a great skater but at least one of the better skaters among psychology professors

Last country you visited ? and what happened there ?

I was in Bulgaria for a conference. Travel less nowadays but need to because of my work.

What was the last gnarly thing you witnessed ?

Eddie Twardomanski and Pelle Stegander at a small bowl (Cogs) in a barn. They are just so great.

What was the last item you bought ?

Green Ace trucks.

What do you do besides skateboarding, do you have other hobbies, other interests ?

As mentioned I play in a cover band – Obstipation. Apart from music I am interested in religion and many other things as well. In fact, also the things I study at work. Lucky to be researcher.

What is your to go to restaurant, you wanna share ?

Indian food. Too few here in Sweden so it is the first thing I do when I visit UK.

When you cook food, what do you cook ?

For example pasta.

Whats your top 3 favorite drinks ?

I like red wine, beer and cranberry juice. Already mentioned coffe.

How do you see the future of skateboarding ?

It is very exciting times. When I returned I wrote a book with two friends about the history of skateboarding in my hometown, and also set up a webpage www.sk8norrkoping.se With regards to the future I guess the sport versus not a sport issue will be important. I am hoping that skateboarding will be even more popular and that the general public will realize that this is something for young and old men and women.

Who do we need to interview on the lodge ?

There are plenty of interesting people in Sweden. Patric Eldis Eldebrandt is one example.

Do you ever think about a future with no skateboarding ?

Well at 52 I do suspect that there is an ending but hope to skate at least 8 more years. I am very impressed by guys at my age who are really great, like Tony Hawk.

Last words, did we miss anything ?

Skateboarding is rewarding and fun.

Follow me on:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *