Lodge Guest, Alex Griffiths

Seaside Sessions 2017, photo by Richard Styles

 

What is your name ? Alex Griffiths

Where are you from ? London, UK

How old are you ? 16

Sponsors ? Wight trash skateboards, protec, extreme, stance socks, etnies (shop flow), speedrats wheels, shiner dist

Board, Trucks & Wheel size ? I usually ride 8.25 boards, 139 Indy hollows, and anywhere between 56 and 60mm wheels

What is your normal skate terrain ? Vert Ramps for sure

Why do you skateboarding in the first place ? I tried out lots of other sports and nothing worked for me. Then my mum showed me a video of a recent X games big air event and that was when I knew I wanted to take up skateboarding. I was mesmerised by the way they were able to fly.

Tell us how a great day is looking for you Wake up nice and early, go for a chilled morning skate somewhere local after breakfast, come home and have lunch, make sure all my cameras are charged and head out for a late afternoon/evening vert session and filming mission, arrive home at 10:00, grab a quick dinner then go to bed.

Any hobbys besides skateboarding ? Making videos about skateboarding, travelling

Favorite skateboarders at the moment ? Clay Kreiner, Paul Luc Ronchetti, Moto Shibata to name a few

What is the future of skateboarding ? How do you see it ? I am noticing that vert skateboarding is becoming merged with bowl skating to form park skating which has been taking over recently with vans park series etc. Street skating seems to be where it always has been with street league but still in strong form

How are you doing at the moment ? Are you fit for fight ? I am doing well at the moment. Just finished school so this enables me to have more time to enjoy skating and travel to different locations as well as having the time to keep up my fitness.

Have you been on any mission(S) lately, you wanna tell about about ? My main mission for this year was to visit as many different countries as possible for competitions to get an insight into the different kinds of skate culture around the world. So far I have been to Berlin, Malmo, Copenhagen and various places around the UK and I am excited to see what the next few months will bring.

Who do you normally skate with ? If I’m skating in London, it will usually be with all the street skaters who like to skate at the Southbank and street spots around London. Being one of very few vert skaters in London, I have to travel at least 1 and a half hours to skate vert. However every vert ramp in the UK has its own little community and there will always be someone to skate with. I’ll usually be with my friend George Mason fro Cranleigh travelling to skate different vert Ramps. My favourite group of people to skate with are the creation skatepark vert skaters as you can always count on a great session, great music, and a great atmosphere!

How does your weekends normally look like ? I will usually have one full skate day and one half day. Saturday is usually the day where I will get up at 8:00am and not get back until 10:30pm to make the most of the day. Sunday I will usually wake up late, edit the video I filmed on Saturday, then sometimes I teach skateboarding to beginners who want to take up skateboarding to earn some money to help fund my trips.

What is your plan this summer, please let us know a few things your gonna do ? This summer I am going to be going to Woodward for 2 weeks to get some time on the mini mega which has always been on my list of things to get done. I am so excited for that! After that, I am hoping to continue travelling around Europe and visit places such as: Finland, Norway and certain parts of Spain such as Barcelona.

 

 

Vert Attack 11

 

What is the future of vert, street or bowl ? Do you see any new directions ? Vert and bowl seem to be coming together as one and becoming park.

What motivates you at the moment ? I like to make sure that I fulfill every single day and make it count.

Any Random storys ? When I first visited Ramp City skatepark in Blackpool. I wasn’t aware that there was a separate room with a pool and a full pipe. I had just found out in the last 20 mins of the session. I was 9 years old at the time and very small. I went in and started to skate and after about 10 minutes I heard a massive door shut and a lock. I realised I had been locked in the bowl/fullpipe room. It took my dad a while to find me as he didn’t have a clue that this part of the park exsisted but luckily he found me and I was taken out after planning how I was going to sleep in the pool.

Do you cook food ? if so, what do you cook ? Pasta pesto, nice and easy and does the job

Favorite food ? Any type of curry

 

 

 

 

How does it feel to be on the lodge ? Amazing! I had a look at the other interviews and I’m stoked to be among some absolute legends!

Best Lodge interview / post you have read and why ? I like them all

What should we know about you ? this is your chance to get it our there I only ever drink water, no juice, no fizzy drinks, no smoothies just water

Any thank you’s A massive thank you to my family, my sponsors and the plank of wood with 4 wheels attached to it.

Follow me on:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.