Lodge Guest, Pontus Björn


Pontus Foto: yoshi

Name: Pontus Björn

Current: Job / school: Working extra as personal assistant and trying to skate as much as possible.

Where are you from? Borlänge, Sweden

Where do you currently live? Stockholm, Sweden

Family status: I have a wonderful girlfriend, my parents and two sisters

Age: 27

Sponsors: DC, Bones, Jimmy’z, TSG, Thunder, Seventree skateboards

Years of skateboarding: Around 17

Board size: 8,5 on vert and 8,25 on everything else

Wheel size: 58 on vert and 54/56 in street and park

Trucks: 149 thunder titanium

I change set up every: When it is time. Don’t like to change too often so I still appreciate a fresh board.

Current Board trend: Same as always. Not much into trends.



BS smith, Stockholm foto: David  Ostlund


Please state your type of terrain on your board in %

Street: 10 %

(Skatepark) Flow Street: 10%

Miniramp: 5 %

Long board: don’t have one

Vert: 50 %

Bowl: 25 %

Freestyle: nope




How are you doing at the moment?

I am doing great. Lots of skateboarding and will spend my fall in California to get away from the depressing Swedish fall.

How is your body at the moment , (injuries, knees, and so so ) ?

At the moment my body is feeling good (knock on wood), but I have been struggling with some injuries in the past so have to keep up with my rehab training to stay healthy.

Please comment your feelings about Skateboarding in the

 80s A lot of cool tricks on vert. Miss some of that creativity

90s Small wheels and baggy pants looked funny

2000 That’s around when I started so lots of good memories skating with my friends.

2010+ Still having fun and good parks are being built everywhere. Hoping for some more nice vertramps to pop up in Europe though

When I chill, I chill with,

My roommate, my friends, my family, my girlfriend or by my self.

I’m have been on a mission lately in (with)

Life is a mission.

Dream session would be,

Been having some killer sessions on the new supergood ramp in Tjöme Norway the last few summers with a bunch of skaters from all over the world. Also I really miss the sessions we used to have on the old Copenhagen skatepark vert with some Swedes and the Danish vertcrew.

Lately I have been working on,

My life and my skateboarding, want to film a videopart I would be satisfied with.

When im home I like to,

Relax or play my guitar.

I normally call my homies for,

To go skateboarding, hang out or go out for a few beers if it is a weekend.

Your homies are,

Bunch of guys from Borlänge, Jocke Olsson, my roommate Ollbult and all the other cool skateboarders I know

Favorite drink is, coffee, and a cold beer is nice in the evening

Favorite drug, cant stop the snus (Swedish tobacco)

Favorite music, old school reggae, jungle, or some calm guitar music. I enjoy lots of different types of music.

Favorite skateboarders, So many good skaters but I always dreamed of skating like Colin Mckay or Bob Burnquist. But there are some good Europeans like Juergen Horrwarth and Giorgio Zattoni who I really like to watch skate.

Favorite skatepark, Stockholm skatepark, Borlänge skatepark, Berlin skatehalle and the one in Tjöme.

When I cook, I cook, Different stuff. Trying to eat more vegetarian foods now. But I really like chicken.

To go to resturant is, don’t go to often because I enjoy cooking

To go to trick is, backside lipslide

To go to trick when you are farked is, Don’t really know what farked means. If it means angry? I just do some airs or grinds and enjoy being on my board

To go to trick when you are winning is, backside reverts

TOP 3 Cities, Copenhagen, Berlin and Shanghai

When I travel, I always bring, My skateboard

Best travel advice I can give is, do it! Try to travel as much as possible because there are many nice places to visit.


Ollie to fakie foto: Henry Kalmeer from OSLO, Norway

Best travel memory you want to share?

Must have been when I was 15 and went to Giorgio’s ramp in Italy where I made my first 540 in the end of the contest jam. The speaker was awesome and turned off the music for my attempts and hyped the crowd.

When I do not skateboard I, Play guitar, work out, relax or edit small videos on my computer.

My fitness program is, I have had some injuries in the past and I had shoulder surgery about a year ago so have to keep doing rehab and strength training to avoid breaking again. Also it is good to do some leg and balance workout for skating.

When I get old I want to, live somewhere nice, be healthy and happy.

Where do you stand & please comment with skateboarding in the olympics ?

We will have to see how it turns out but I think it will have upsides and downsides. I’m sure more parks will be built, but also more economic interests will try to influence and control skateboarding. But since they are including skateboarding in the olympics I cant understand why they don’t have vert or megaramp which is more spectacular in my opinion.

I would like to see more of, Nick Diaz

I dream of, having a backyard vertramp or a big barn with one inside.

The book I currently read is, Zlatan Ibrahimovic’s biography

The best travel I have been on, been on many great ones but it was fun to go to Shanghai a few times. Brazil was awesome aswell. Me and Jocke got to stay at Sandro Diaz place for a few weeks. He has the best private vertramp and a concrete bowl. Shout out to Sandro for the good time.

On Netflix I watch, Just finished Narcos. So good.

If I could change the world I would, yes offcours. For the better. One love!

I currently follow (social media, instagram twitter, Facebook)

I use facebook and instagram but trying to not get to caught up in it because there is so much to see all the time.

Life advise so far ?

Have fun I guess.

Anything else,

Thanks, to my parents who are great and always took me to different places to skate when I was young, my friends and sponsors. And thanks to Thomas Kring for hooking me up with the lodge!


Stale fish Foto: Mike John from England



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *