Lodge Guest, Karin Schweizer


Where do you currently live and where are you from ?

I come from the countryside in Austria and live now in really beautiful city from Austria 30 minutes away from Italy.

Tell us a little bit about your past ?

I grow up on Snowboard and get a big passion for it. My parents tried to feature me in horse riding but after I surfed my first wave I totally felt in love with boardsport.

Why skateboarding ? How did it start for you ?

I guess I‘ll find alot of answers for the question but definitely first that skateboarding is a kind of art and that you will never fight against somebody else only with yourself. I start really late with Skateboarding I was 23 because my best friend was asking me if we go longboarding and I said no before longboarding I gonna skate. So I did it, bought me a used board rolled to the next park and never stopped with it since 3 years. Nowadays I‘m asking myself what I did before 🙂

What size set up, wheels & trucks do you currently ride ?

My deck is 8.5 and the trucks 1.48 and my wheels 60. I love this setup it‘s good for big transition.

Do you have any setup rituals, we need to know about ?

I‘m changing my decks between 8.25 and 8.5 but I‘m always riding big wheels.

Any sponsors ?

I have a local shop sponsor from my city it‘s called moreboards and I really love it to support them.

What kind of skateboarding do you prefer ?

I prefer Vert and Bowl skating because it gives me always the feeling of surfing and I love big transitions because I dream every night of huge airs :))

Do you have a great skate spot in your home town you can recommend ?

There a nice one in the front of our theatre it‘s a little quarter and easy to ride. It‘s nice if you want to get a nice photo because there are many flowers and the building of the theater is very old.

Who is your favorite skateboarders, under and over 30 ?

I haven‘t any special one I guess every skater inspires me in his own way.

School, work, not working or other occupation ?

I‘m working as a snowboard instructor in winter and in summer yo‘ll gonna find me on my local lake teaching watersports. Besides I‘m studying primary teacher.


Blunt over the spine, photo Charlotte Thompson


How is a normal day looking for you ? 

Depends wich season is but in summer I start in the morning at 8:00 going to work with the kids teaching them some windsurfing. After it I‘ll go for University and of course if I‘m not to late ready with everything I skating my local Vertramp until the sun goes down and if it‘s a warm day I gonna take a swim in the lake.

Tell us how a good long great weekend should look for you

It should definitely including a skateboard trip to some nice bowls. Perfect would it to be close by the ocean so I can take early bird wave and in the evening shredding some concrete waves.



Frontsideair, Joachim Zotter


Any big plans for 2019 ?

I have always a lot of plans but first of all traveling in summer to a warmer place and then learn all my tricks from my big list.

Who are you hanging out with at the moment ?

At the moment I‘m with my best skatefriend Alisa Fessl. We are finishing our last day here in Kopenhagen.

Who and what is your motivation at the moment ?

My motivation for Vertskateboarding is so high right now after seeing all the crazy guys ripping the vertattack in Malmö.

Last country you visited ? and what happened there ?

Before Sweden and Denmark, I was in Italy and it was an amazing trip. I met there Gorgio Zattoni and it was really inspiring to see him skating his huge green Vert.

What was the last gnarly thing you witnessed ?

I guess it was all the crazy and unbelievable tricks from last weekend at the vertattack.

What was the last item you bought ?

Some Denmark sweets from a bakery.

What do you do besides skateboarding, do you have other hobbies, other interests ?

I always enjoy snowboarding far away from all the stress. I love freeriding because then I can feel nature as much as somewhere else. Maybe I only have the same feeling from surfing but the next waves are far away from Austria.

What is your to go to restaurant, you wanna share ?

I‘m not often in restaurants but when then mostly in some Indian‘s.

When you cook food, what do you cook ?

I love to cook curry. It‘s one of the most practical dishes because on the next day it‘s even more tasty.

Whats your top 3 favorite drinks ?

smoothies, espresso, hot chocolate

How do you see the future of skateboarding ?

I think there is a lot of changing right now and of course women skateboarding is getting popular.

Who do we need to interview on the lodge ?

You should interview more girls 🙂

Do you ever think about a future with no skateboarding ?

I’m trying to stay fit and hopefully I never hurt myself to bad so that I can skate even when I‘m a granny with white long hairs doing some huge frontair.

Last words, thank yous, other, did we miss anything ?

Thank you for interviewing me and big thanks to Denmark and Sweden for giving such an amazing skateboardtrip.

Follow me on:

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Smoeiss says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *