Lodge Guest, Tom Derichs

Tom D Chilling. Foto: Samu Karvonen

Tom D Chilling. Foto: Samu Karvonen

Name: Tom Derichs

Current: Job / school: Salesmann that’s what I learned and currently do for living, in a skateshop, 4 days a week!

Where are you from? Wuppertal, best city in the world!

Where do you currently live? Best City in the world!

Family status: Girlfriend one son and another one coming soon.

Age: 37

Sponsors: Dumb Skateboards, Carhartt WIP, Vans Shoes, Independent, Spitfire, Lousy Livin Underwear

Years of skateboarding: around 24 years.

Board size: My Board is 8.25 but at the moment im skating a 8.1 Gio Board.

Wheel size: 52

Trucks: 139 Indys

I change set up every: Boards depends on the spots, If I jump a lot I break boards but in general every 2 weeks I guess!

Current Board trend: My boards are getting smaller

 

Ollie over handrail. Foto: Hendrik Herzmann

Ollie over handrail.
Foto: Hendrik Herzmann

Please state your type of terrain on your board in %

Street: 70%

(Skatepark) Flow Street 15%

Miniramp: 15%

Long board:

Vert: I wish I could

 

Your daily DAY by the hours, (or tell us about your longest day the last weeks)

 

06.00 dreaming of girls

07.00 taking a pee…back to sleep

08.00 getting fresh bread from the baker with my son and having breakfast

09.00 packing stuff to go swim with the lady and son

10.00 doing some swimming and water fighting with Anton( My son)

11.00 chilling in the sun

12.00 starting to moan I want to leave for skating

13.00 arrive home setting up a board( left family in the swimpark)

14.00 meet up with the Gang at Haspel, planning which spot we will go

15.00 still planning

16.00 arrived at streetspot…sucks

17.00 next spot, good one this time

18.00 still filming…driving home pick up son to get barbecue supplies

19.00 garden is full of people having a barbecue

20.00 eating

21.00 getting a bit drunk

22.00 quik shower

23.00 go out on a party with most of the people from barbecue

24.00 dancing…drinking

01.00 dancing

02.00 getting tired

03.00 dancing

04.00 going home

05.00 realising I will have a hangover when I wake up.

 

How are you doing at the moment?

Good! Had a rough year but now its going really well, I had some healthy difficulties and beginning of this year I had a hip operation…but fuck that shit…im fine now. Just getting back into jumping modus!My girlfriend is pregnant with our second kid which is supposed to be coming in 2 weeks.

When I chill, I chill with,

My Girlfriend and all my friends, we are pretty lucky and have a lot of friends together. But theres is a lot of chill time with only skatehomies, that’s where the dirty talk comes out hahahah…my girlfriend just read that and corrected me and said bullshit talk!

I’m have been on a mission lately in (with)

I just flew to italy a week ago for 2 days to skate with Gio Grazzani of Dumb Skateboards in Milano, other than that hometown missions with my homies, Erik, Thomas, Björn,Martin, Sascha, Berny, Mosher, …and Mark Frölich was here a few days ago!

Dream session is,

With all my friends anywhere with good weather and some good food afterwards.

 

Back lip. Foto: Hendrik Herzmann!

Back lip. Foto: Hendrik Herzmann

 

Lately I have been working on,

Uuuhhh, I have to film a part for Carhartt WIP, im supposed to gather some more footage for a Vans Germany Team edit and we are filming for a Wuppertal video.

When I was little I would like to,

I don’t remember… I guess I just wanted to skate and did not think about anything else much!

When im home I like to,

play Lego with my son or do some woodwork in the basement or some drawing!

I normally call my homies for,

Skating, chilling, help or partying!

Your homies are, Martin, Björn, Erik, Thomas, Berny, Silvio, Alkan, Ken, Gio, Chicco, Simone, Fede and Willow…..all the WPT homies.

I enjoy going to, Haspel, our local ledgespot.

Favorite drink is, Rum and Coke for partiyng, in day time I only drink water and tea.

Favorite food is, Pasta, I love pasta and fish, salat… I like food in general a lot.

Favorite drug, I used to like weed a lot but I stopped that almost 2 years ago, Rum and Coke now and then!

Favorite music, Rap and Rock just listening to creedence clearwater revival and before that Action Bronson.

Favorite film, The Goonies.

Favorite skateboarders, all my friends!

Favorite skate film, Virtual Reality.

Favorite skatepark,

Köln North Brigade

Favorite spot,

Haspel Wuppertal.

Favorite woman / men (blond, fat, thin, big, small)

I like all them ladies but there is one which is always a little bit ahead of all.

When I cook, I cook,

A lot of food, mainly a lot of pasta with vegetables.

 

Art action Foto: Hendrik Herzmann!

Art action Foto: Hendrik Herzmann!

 

To go to resturant is,

79 Grad in Wuppertal.

To go to trick is, stretching.

To go to trick when you are farked is,

What is farked?

To go to trick when you are winning is,

Im always loosing!

 

 

 

 

TOP 3 Cities, Wuppertal, Milano, Berlin.

When I travel, I always bring, a knive and fresh underwear.

Best travel advice I can give is, don’t plan tricks on spots you have never been to.

Best travel memory you want to share? To many, just the fealing to be in a van with good people and listening to good music and looking forward to a nice place is priceless.

When I do not skateboard I, chill, play, work, and watch a movie sometimes.

My fitness program is, sometimes swimming, biking, but the only thing I do regularly is stretching.

When I get old I want to, I am old and I have everything that I want!

I would like to see more of, my friend Anton Juul again!

That one time where I was in jail because of, fighting and grafitti is around 15 years ago.

I should do more of, stretching and skating!

My future looks like, there wont be much sleep for me in the near future.

I dream of, girls and skating!

The book I currently read is, haven’t read a book for more than a year…pretty sad!

I try to finish a movie for the last 14 days and always fall asleep after 5 minutes!

The best travel I have been on, any Dumb Trip is the best!

On Netflix I watch, don’t have that!

If I could change the world I would, ban money! Back to trading!

Everybody should own a, Skateboard!

The hobby I have, no one knows about is, grafitti.

I will never get rid of, shitty kickflips.

I would love to be in a movie with, never thought of that….but some hot chick I guess.

I currently follow (social media, instagram twitter, Facebook)

You guys!

Life advise so far ? Enjoi it as much as you can and be you!

Anything else, thanks for sending me this! Peace out to Denmark!

 

 

 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.